top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

360

“The servant-leader is servant first … It begins with the natural feeling that one wants to serve, to serve first.”

~ Robert K. Greenleaf ~

I had never heard the term "servant leader" before I started conversations regarding a possible Clinton School International Public Service Project (IPSP) placement with Eric Soard at Wesley College in February 2018. What I did know at that time was that the leadership project interested me.

I promised myself after meeting and interviewing Erick Omondi Okoth ten years ago that I would find a way to get to Africa. At the age of 23, he was left to care for 15 brothers and cousins. He gave up everything he had going for himself to provide for his loved ones. His story of sacrifice had a happy ending, but the pain in his eyes told an even deeper story. After our meeting, I could not help but ask myself the following questions: What have I ever sacrificed for another human being? How can I give back? What more can I do?

Okoth inspired me to switch careers from journalism to public service. In the years since I met Okoth, I worked as an AmeriCorps Volunteer, a Peace Corps Volunteer, and a grant writer. I also continued my role as a reporter in various capacities. All of those life experiences were stepping stones to get me where I am today - sitting in a classroom in Mwanza, Tanzania with talented young men and women who I know are going to make positive contributions to their communities and society overall. I had a few options when it came to making a final decision for IPSP, but as with other instances in my life thus far, I am so glad that I followed my heart. My heart led me to choose Wesley College and I have fallen in love with this place and the people this summer.

Tanzania is a beautiful country and its people are even more beautiful - inside and out. Wesley College students come from all over the country - Kigoma, Tarime, and Morogoro, just to name a few - and I have been able to experience different parts of the country through the students' and teachers' stories and general attitudes and behaviors.

One student shared something with me earlier this summer that I will never forget. The student said, "Christine, I have nothing to offer you, but I will be with you forever." That day and today as I write this, it brings a tear to my eye because the teachers and students have no idea that they have changed my life and will continue to do so long after I get on a plane and travel back to Chicago August 9.

Everyone has been so patient and kind as I navigated everything from walking to work in the mornings, buying food in the markets, taking transportation around town, and learning Swahili. People have felt comfortable enough to share their hopes and dreams with me. People have welcomed me into their homes. My friends here at Wesley College have opened their hearts to me and that can never be repaid.

What I did not realize during the last ten years that I do know now is that I unknowingly chose and started living a lifestyle of a servant leader the day I met Okoth. According to the Robert K. Greenleaf Center for Servant Leadership, "Servant leadership is a philosophy and set of practices that enriches the lives of individuals, builds better organizations, and ultimately creates a more just and caring world." Can you imagine a world where all of our leaders were servant leaders? Based on that definition, I think this world would be a much better place if people adapted this style of leadership.

It is funny how things work out because I initially had my heart set on going to Kenya for IPSP, but I know now that I was meant to come to Tanzania this summer. I cannot imagine not having these people in my everyday life and though 7,874 miles will soon separate us, I know that the bonds I have formed cannot be broken. It will surely take time and effort on both ends, but I believe that the relationships I have formed are worth it to keep the lines of communication open. This place has touched my heart and I foresee returning to Africa in the future. I do not know whether it will be for work or pleasure, but I have found discovered a piece of Christine that I did not know existed.

She is stronger now.

She is more resilient now.

She is even more motivated now.

She is ready to take on the world and bring with her that servant leadership attitude wherever she goes.

I have seen a part of the world that I longed to see for a long time. Now that I have seen it, it is hard to go back to the way things used to be. In a way, this journey has allowed me to come full circle with my dream of traveling to Africa. In other ways, it has opened doors to my future. I am not sure yet which door I will walk through, but I know whichever one I choose will be the right one.


bottom of page